1. Project Objectives

CONCERT-Japan is one of the international cooperation activities of the European Union's Seventh Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development (FP7). Within the framework of the FP7, the European Union is engaged in a variety of science and technology cooperation activities, and in January 2011 the CONCERT-Japan Project was launched with the general aim to further develop science and technology cooperation between Europe and Japan.

With a formal membership of 13 partner funding institutions representing 9 different countries, the CONCERT-Japan Project has the specific objective to conduct a Pilot Joint Call for research proposals, thereby enabling network-building, mutual learning and information exchange on the topic of science and technology policy.

"CONCERT-Japan" Website

3. Calls for Proposals

Calls for Proposals
Month/YearResearch AreasPress Release
Feb 2014 "Photonic Manufacturing" Details
Sep 2012 "Efficient Energy Storage and Distribution" and "Resilience against Disasters" Details

4. Finished Projects

*The underlined researcher is the Project Leader

Photonic Manufacturing

Period:FY2014 - FY2016

Photonic Manufacturing
TitleResearch Leader in Japan Research Leader in the Overseas
Femtosecond laser Advanced manufacturing for Ship-In-a-Bottle Lab-on-chips Enrichment (FEASIBLE) Koji Sugioka
RIKEN-SIOM Joint Research Unit, Unit Leader
(Italy) Rebeca Martinez Vazquez
National Research Council Institute for Photonics and Nanotechnologies (IFN-CNR) Staff Researcher
(Hungary) Lorand Kelemen
Biological Research Centre of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Biophysics, Research Associate
Femtosecond laser microfabrication of diamond photonic circuits for quantum information(DiamondFab) Kiyotaka Miura
Kyoto University, Graduate School of Engineering, Professor
(Italy) Roberta Ramponi
National Research Council Institute for Photonics and Nanotechnologies (IFN-CNR) Director
(Turkey) Ali Serpenguzel
Koc University, Microphotonics Research Laboratory, Director
Plasmon-enhanced Tera-Hertz emission by Femtosecond laser pulses of nanostructured semiconductor/metal surfaces (FemtoTera) Kazuaki Sakoda
National Institute of Materials Science, Photonic Materials Unit, Unit Director
(Italy) Stefano Sanguinetti
University of Milano-Bicocca, Department of Materials Science, Professor
(Hungary) Akos Nemcsics
Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Institute for Technical Physics and Materials Science, Senior Research Fellow
Functional Thin-Film Ferroelectric Materials for CMOS compatible Photonics (FF-Photon) Kazuo Shinozaki
Tokyo Institute of Technology, Graduate School of Science and Engineering, Professor
(Switzerland) Juerg Leuthold
ETH Zurich Institute of Electromagnetic Fields (IEF), Head of Institute
(Italy) Mario Martinelli
Polytechnic University of Milan, Department of Electronics, Information and BioEngineering (DEIB), POLICOM Lab Director

Resilience against Disasters

Period:FY2013 - FY2014

Resilience against Disasters
TitleResearch Leader in Japan Research Leader in the Overseas
Increasing resilience of urban planning (URBIPROOF) Michio Ubaura
Department of Architecture and Building Science, Tohoku University, Associate Professor
(Germany) Stefan Greiving
Institute of Spatial Planning, TU Dortmund University, Executive Director
(Slovakia) Jaroslav Tesliar
Agency for the Support of Regional Development Kosice, Director
Road Networks for Earthquake Resilient Societies (ROADERS) Eichi Taniguchi
Department of Urban Management, Kyoto University, Professor
(Germany) Uwe E. Dorka
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Universitat Kassel, Professor
(Romania) Gabriela M. Atanasiu
Technical University of Gheorghe Asachi of Iasi, Professor
(Australia) Russell G. Thompson
Institute of Transport Studies, Monash University, Senior Lecturer
(UK) Panagiotis Angeloudis Imperial College London, Lecturer
Resilience against Disasters using Remote Sensing and Geoinformation Technologies for Rapid Mapping and Information Dissemination (RAPIDMAP) Kohei Cho
School of Information and Science & Technology, Tokai University, Professor
(Switzerland) Emmanuel Baltsavias
Institute of Geodesy and Photogrammetry,ETH Zurich, Senior Scientist
(Italy) Fabio Remondino
3D Optical Metrology Unit, Bruno Kessler Foundation, Senior Scientist
(Germany) Uwe Soergel
Leibniz Universitat Hannover, Professor
An Innovative Tie System for Improving the Monolithic Behavior of Masonry In-filled Reinforced Concrete Frames (INFILTIE) Yoshiaki Nakano
Institute of Industrial Sciences, University of Tokyo, Professor
(Turkey) Polat Gulkan
Department of Civil Engineering, Cankaya University, Department Head
(Germany) Ekkehard Fehling
Faculty of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Kassel, Head of Section of Concrete and Masonry Structures
Risk Assessment and design of Prevention Structures for enhanced tsunami DIsaster resilience (RAPSODI) Yoshiyuki Nakamura
Port and Airport Research Institute (PARI), Distinguished Researcher
(Norway) Carl Bonnevie Harbitz
Norwegian Geotechnical Institute, Tsunami Discipline Leader
(Germany) Andreas Kortenhaus
TU Braunschweig, Leichtweib Institute for Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources, Senior Researcher
(Turkey) Ahmet Cevdet Yalciner
METU Department of Civil Engineering, Ocean Engineering Research Center, Director

Efficient Energy Storage and Distribution

Period:FY2013 - FY2014

Efficient Energy Storage and Distribution
TitleResearch Leader in Japan Research Leader in the Overseas
Solar photocatalysis for generation of fuel (SolarFuel) Bunsho Ohtani
Catalysis Research Center, Hokkaido University, Professor
(Germany)Sven Rau
Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, Ulm University, Director
(France) Hynd Remita
Laboratory of Physical Chemistry, University of Paris-Sud, Head of Electron Transfer in Condensed Matter Team
Nanoradiator-Equipped Adsorbents for Safe and Energy Saving Methane Storage (NASEMS) Katsumi Kaneko
Research Center for Exotic Nanocarbons, Shinshu University, Professor
(Italy) Lucia Carlucci
Department of Chemistry, University of Milano, Associate Professor
(Hungary) Krisztina Laszlo
Department of Physical Chemistry and Materials Science, Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Professor
(France) Alain Fuchs
Department of Chemistry, University Pierre et Marie Curie, Researcher, President of CNRS
(Spain) Francisco Rodriguez-Reinoso
Department of Inorganic Chemistry, Alicante University, Professor
Understanding Mesoscopic Behaviour of Li ion in All-solid-battery (UMBLA) Toshiya Saito
Battery Research Division, Toyota Motor Corporation, Group Manager
(Spain) J. Manuel Perlado
Institute of Nuclear Fusion, Polytechnic University of Madrid, Director
(Germany) Arnulf Latz
The Institute of Technical Thermodynamics and Helmholtz Institute Ulm, Computational Electrochemistry, Head
Fundamental investigations on Improved Materials and Storage Concepts for a Hydrogen based Integrated Total Energy Utilisation System (iTHEUS) Akihiro Nakano
Integrated Hydrogen System Group, Energy Technology Research Institute (ETRI), National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Group Leader
(Norway) Bjorn C. Hauback
Physics Department, Institute for Energy Technology (IFE), Head of Department
(Germany) Martin Dornheim
Department of Nanotechnology, Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht (HZG), Head of Department
(Switzerland) Andreas Zuttel
Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology (EMPA), Head of Division Hydrogen & Energy
(Denmark) Torben Rene Jensen
Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center, Department of Chemistry, University of Aarhus, Associate Professor