## IEEE COUNCIL ON SUPERCONDUCTIVITY AWARD RECIPIENTS 2017

## MAX SWERDLOW AWARD FOR SUSTAINED SERVICE TO THE APPLIED SUPERCONDUCTIVITY COMMUNITY



KENICHI SATO Japan Science and Technology Agency

For sustained service to the applied superconductivity community, in particular:

- for developing magnet-grade HTS wires and their applications to power cables, magnets, and motors (1988-2016),
- for serving as Secretary of IEC/TC90 (1989-2013), Program Officer of JST (2009-present) and Co-Editor of Superconductivity News Forum (2014-present), and
- for serving as President of the Cryogenics and Superconductivity Society of Japan (2012-2016), and a Board Member of ICMC (2001-present).