Asian Science and Technoligy Forum Tsukuba Seminar

+ Date: 3-4 October 2007
+ Venue: NIED, Tsukuba, Japan
+ Sponsor
: NIED (National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Prevention)
: JST (Japan Science and Technology Agency)
+ Committees:
IPDR-WS plan
Tsukuba IPDR Report 2007
Guided IPDR Links 2007
Tsukuba IPDR Resolution 2007
Presentation reporting IPDR-WS at ASTF, Tokyo
Final program
Day 1 /3rd October 2007
08:30 - 09:00   Registration
Opening (Chair: Hiromichi Higashihara, EDM/NIED)
09:00 - 09:20   Opening address
Atsushi Watanabe, MEXT
Soichi Nakajima, CAO
Salvano Briceno (viedo presented by Craig Duncan), UN/ISDR
Yoshimitsu Okada, NIED
09:20 - 09:40   Overview: Hiroyuki Kameda, EDM/NIED
Session 1: Keynote (Chair: Amod Mani Dixit, NSET-Nepal)
09:40 - 10:10   Keynote Speech: Craig Duncan, UN/ISDR
10:10 - 10:25   General Report: Naho Ikeda, EDM/NIED
Session 2: Individual Presentations
Part1(Chair: Charles Scawthorn, Kyoto University)
10:25 - 12:10   (Information providers)
ADRC/IRP, Takako Chinoi
    HOTSPOT, Arthur Lerner-Lam
  CRED, Guha-Sapir, Debarati
  ICHARM, Kuniyoshi Takeuchi
  JAXA, Takayuki Nakamura
(Information users)
ADRRN, Jemilah Mahmood
12:10 - 13:30   (Group photo & Lunch)
Part2 (Chair: C. V. R. Murty,WHE)
13:30 - 15:15   (Information providers)
AGORA, Charles Scawthorn
    NIED, Hiroyuki Fujiwara, Teruko Sato
    PDC, Stanley Goosby
    ERI, Univ. Tokyo, Teruyuki Kato
    ((Information users)
GOLFRE, R. Kuberan
JICA, Shokichi Sakat
Part3(Chair: Arthur Lerner-Lam, Columbia University)
15:15 - 16:45   (Information providers)
BRI, Taiki Saito
    WHE, C. V. R. Murty
    UN/ISDR, Craig Duncan
    DRH, Hiroyuki Kameda
    (Information users)
NSET-Nepal, Amod Dixit
    CITYNET, Kazuo Hashimoto
    (Abstract contribution:)
ProVention Consortium
16:45 - 17:00   (Coffee Break)
Session 3: General Discussion
(Chair: Mohsen Ghafory-Ashtiany, IIEES, Rapporteur: Rajib Shaw, Kyoto University)
17:00 - 18:30   (Discussion)
18:35 - 20:00   Reception (MC: Teruko Sato, NIED)
Day 2 /4h October 2007
Session 4: Wrap-up Discussion and Resolution
(Chair: Kaoru Takara, DPRIKyotoUniversity. Reporter: Fang Weihua, BNU)
09:00 - 10:30   Wrap-up discussion
10:30-11:50   Resolution; Charles Scawthorn (Facilitator), Chair, International Advisory Committee
11:50 - 12:00   Message from ASTF: Tsuneo Katayama, Chair, ASTF WG3 (Tokyo, Oct. 5)
Closing address: Hiroyuki Kameda, Chair, Program Committee
12:00 - 13:30   (Lunch)
PM   Technical tour to NIED facilities
ADRC: Asian Disaster Reduction Center
ADRRN: Asian Disaster Reduction and Response Network
AGORA: Alliance for global open Risk Analysis
BNU: Beijing Normal University
BRI: Building Research Institute
CAO: Director General for Disaster Management, Cabinet Office, Government of Japan
CITYNET: Regional Network of Local Authorities for the Management of Human Settlement
CRED: Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters
DPRI: Disaster Prevention Research Institute
DRH: Disaster Reduction Hyperbase
EC/JRC: European Commission Joint Research Centre
EDM: Earthquake Disaster Mitigation Research Center
ERI: Earthquake Research Institute, University of Tokyo
GOLFRE: Global Open Learning Forum on Risk Education
HOTSPOT: Hotspot / WorldBank-Columbia University
ICHARM: International Center for Water Hazard and Risk Management
IIEES: International Institute of Earthquake Engineering and Seismology
IPDR: Information Platforms for Disaster Reduction
JAXA: Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency
JICA: Japan International Cooperation Agency
JST: Japan Science and Technology Agency
MEXT: Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology, Government of Japan
NSET-Nepal:National Society for Earthquake Technology-Nepal
NIED: National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster Prevention, Japan
PDC: Pacific Disaster Center
UN-ISDR: United Nations International Strategy for Disaster Reduction
WHE: World Housing Encyclopedia