Drs. Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano, and Shuji Nakamura
win the Nobel Prize in Physics 2014.
JST supported following development projects on Contract Development;
“Manufacturing technology of gallium nitride (GaN) blue light emitting diode” (1987 - 1990) from a Dr. Akasaki’s research result
“Manufacturing technology of GaN short wave semiconductor laser” (1993 - 2000) from a Dr. Akasaki’s and Dr. Amano’s research result
“Manufacturing technology of moth eye structured LED” (2007 - 2010) from a Dr. Amano’s research result
Blue LED


Quick Links

  • Updated
  • Serected Technologies for Licensing



Over more than half a century since the launch of the Technology Transfer Program in 1958, a diverse range of groundbreaking new technologies has been transferred from academia to the marketplace and the industrial sector.

Copyright(c) JAPAN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AGENCY. All rights reserved.