鳥居先生がワシントン州の科学アカデミーに選出されました(3頁目)

Academy of Sciences

Science in the Service of Washington State

Date: August 1, 2012

Contact: Mary McDonough, Washington State Academy of

Sciences 360-534-2321

e-mail marymcd@wsu.edu

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

37 NEW MEMBERS ELECTED BY SCIENCE ACADEMY

OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Academy of Sciences (WSAS) today announced the election of 37 new members in recognition of their distinguished and continuing scientific achievements. The new members will be inducted into the WSAS at the fifth annual meeting at the Museum of Flight in Seattle, WA on September 20. Those elected today bring the total number of active members to 185.

Individuals elected by virtue of their election into the United States National Academies (National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Engineering, Institute of Medicine).

James Bardeen, Professor Emeritus, Department of Physics, University of Washington, NAS

James F. Blinn, Consultant, Mercer Island, NAE

Earl Davie, Professor of Biochemistry, University of Washington, NAS

Evan Eichler, Professor of Genome Sciences, University of Washington, NAS

Dennis P. Lettenmaier, Robert and Irene Sylvester Professor Hydrology, Water Resources, & Environmental Fluid Mechanics, University of Washington, NAE

Kai Li, Paul M. and Marsha R. Wythes Professor in Computer Science Princeton University, NAE

Henrique S. Malvar, Chief Scientist and Distinguished Engineer, Microsoft Research, NAE

Ann Nelson, Professor of Physics, University of Washington, NAS

David Stahl, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Washington, NAE

Individuals elected by the WSAS membership

E. Virginia Armbrust, Professor and Director, School of Oceanography, University of Washington.

Cathryn Booth-LaForce, Charles and Gerda Spence Professor of Nursing, Family & Child Nursing, University of Washington.

George Bridges, President, Whitman College, Walla Walla.

Ana Mari Cauce, Provost and Executive Vice President, Earl R. Carlson Professor of Psychology, University of Washington.

- Charles Chavkin, Professor and Allan and Phyllis Treuer Endowed Chair in Pain Research, University of Washington School of Medicine.
- Sue Clark, Regents Professor of Chemistry and Staff Scientist, Nuclear Radiation Center, Washington State University.
- Larry Dalton, B. Seymour Rabinovitch Chair in Chemistry, University of Washington.
- Thomas Daniel, Professor of Biology and Komen Endowed Chair, Director of the Center for Sensorimotor Neural Engineering, University of Washington.
- Michael Dickinson, Benjamin Hall Professor of Biology, University of Washington.
- Michael Gelb, Harry and Catherine Jaynne Boand Endowed Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Biochemistry, University of Washington.
- Karen Goldberg, Nicole A. Boand Endowed Professor of Chemistry and Director, Center for Enabling New Technologies through Catalysis, University of Washington.
- Blayne Heckel, Professor and Chair, Department of Physics, University of Washington.
- James Krueger, Regents Professor, Sleep and Performance Research Center, Washington State University.
- Kelvin Lynn, Director, Center for Materials Research, George and Diane Conniff Distinguished Professor, School of Mechanical and Materials Engineering, Boeing Chair of Advanced Materials, Professor of Physics, Washington State University.
- Clifford Mass, Professor, Atmospheric Sciences, University of Washington.
- Pamela Mitchell, Robert G. and Jean A Reid Interim Dean, Professor of Bio-behavioral Nursing and Health Systems, University of Washington.
- Ron Mittelhammer, Regents Professor, Economic Sciences and Statistics, Washington State University.
- Charles Murry, Professor of Pathology, Professor of Bioengineering, Professor of Medicine/Cardiology, Director of Center for Cardiovascular Biology, University of Washington
- Roger Myers, Executive Director, Aerojet Redmond Operations, Redmond, WA.
- George D. "Pinky" Nelson, Director, Science, Mathematics and Technology Education Program, Western Washington University.
- Robert Plotnick, Professor and Associate Dean, Evans School of Public Affairs, University of Washington.
- John Reganold, Regents Professor, Soil Science and Agro-ecology, Director, Program in Organic Agriculture, Washington State University.
- James J. Riley, PACCAR Professor of Engineering, Professor, Mechanical Engineering, Adjunct Professor, Applied Mathematics, University of Washington.
- David Takeuchi, Professor, School of Social Work and Department of Sociology, School of Social Work Katherine Hall Chambers Scholar, University of Washington.

Engelberta Thompson, Member, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Professor, School of Public Health, University of Washington.

Keiko Torii, HHMI and Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation Investigator, Distinguished Professor of Biology, University of Washington

Leung Tsang, Professor, Electrical Engineering, University of Washington.

Gunther Uhlmann, Walker Family Endowed Professor in Mathematics, University of Washington.

The Washington State Academy of Sciences provides expert scientific and engineering analysis to inform public policy-making, and works to increase the role and visibility of science in the State of Washington.

Additional information about the Academy and its members is available online at http://www.washacad.org/.