Creation of Innovative Functions of Intelligent Materials on the Basis of the Element Strategy

Strategic Sector

Creation of innovative function of materials by application of nanoscale material structural control technologies, such as controlling the atomic arrangement, towards the practical use of rare-metal-free materials and new targeted functions, such as ultra-high coercivity and ultra-high fracture toughness

Research Supervisor

Kohei Tamao (Director, RIKEN Advanced Science Institute)

Year Started



This research area addresses resource, energy, and environmental problems, which should be solved to build a sustainable society from the viewpoint of materials science and solid-state science based on the Element Strategy and aims to create innovative functions of intelligent materials that are quite different from conventional functions.
Specifically, under the concept of the Element Strategy “understanding and effective use of the roles of key elements that determine the properties and functions of intelligent materials,” we conduct research and development to create innovative properties and functions of intelligent materials by multilaterally and systematically elucidating and understanding problems common in the expression of a variety of functions, such as structure, interface, and electron correlation, and controlling the functions. With a variety of element properties in mind, we investigate ways of expressing the intended functions from a microscopic viewpoint, such as electronic state, atomic arrangement, and molecular structure, and aim to create innovative functions of intelligent materials to solve a variety of problems by using various methods, such as measurement technology and computational science, and designing structures, functions, and reactions. We promote ambitious and challenging research with a multidisciplinary integration beyond the boundaries of the academic fields of physics, chemistry, engineering, and materials science.

Year Started : 2011

Hiroshi Kitagawa
Professor, Kyoto University
Hideo Nagashima
Professor, Kyushu University
Tetsuya Hasegawa
Professor, University of Tokyo
Kazuhiro Hono
Fellow, National Institute for Materials Science

Year Started : 2010

Yasuaki Einaga
Professor, Keio University
Yuichi Shimakawa
Professor, Kyoto University
Satoshi Sugimoto
Professor, Tohoku University
Tadashi Furuhara
Professor, Tohoku University
Sachio Horiuchi
Team Leader, National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology